Versions

Version your design system with releases

Last updated on August 31, 2022

Publishing pending changes

Any changes you make to your Design System are immediately saved as pending changes, which you can then either publish or discard.

Publishing your design system commits these changes into the design system and makes them available in the Figma plugin.

Viewing pending changes

When your design system project has pending changes, a notification badge will appear on the Publish button at the top right of your screen:

Click the Publish button to see a list of your pending changes. Click on each change to see more details about the change:

Publishing changes

Publish your pending changes to commit them to the design system and makes them available in the Figma plugin. When you publish, a new version is added to the version history of the project.

To publish changes:

  1. Click on the Publish button to bring up the list of pending changes.
  1. Use the checkboxes to select which changes you want to Publish. Use the heading checkboxes to select multiple at once.
  1. Set the version, enter a description of the changes and click Publish

If many changes are being published at once, a progress bar will displayed while any related navigation thumbnails are updated to reflect your changes.

Discarding changes

To discard pending changes you've made in the design system:

  1. Click on the Publish button to bring up the list of pending changes.
  1. Right-click on the change you wish to discard and choose "Discard Change" to roll the item back to its previous settings:
 

Version History

Each time you publish changes for your project, you create an entry in the version history of your project.

To view this history, click on the Version History tab (bottom left of screen) to see a timeline of changes.

To tag a new release or edit an existing release, click on the entry in the timeline and set a new version number and/or summary message.

Publishing a release of your project makes it available in other projects and in the Interplay design tool plugins. Releases allow you to present a controlled, named set of versions out to the consumers of your design system.

In the Figma plugin, designers can then either choose to work with the "latest" release of your design system, (default) or work with a specific version you have published. They can make this selection under the Manage Libraries menu option in the plugin.

Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
🤩